New Haandi 2000 Restaurant

Standard
20110427-185810.jpg

Clockwise from top: Goat Curry, Basmati Rice, Matar Paneer, Aloo Gobi, Tandoori Chicken

”Clockwise

the best Pakora
Warm Naan Bread
Clockwise from top: Pakora, Chana Masala, Kari Pakora, and Butter Chicken

Even though the decor at Haandi is definately not the best, I find it a very good place to get traditional Indian food. The decor includes silk scarves stapled to the ceiling (that doesn’t sound very good, does it?), unmemorable artwork on the walls, dimmed lighting and paper placements, over a tablecloth and under glass for the table settings. Indian food can be very spicy and strongly flavoured.

For some one first trying out Indian cuisine, there are some dishes at Haandi’s I would like to recommend. Their Butter Chicken with basmati rice is delicious yet not overpowering. Pakora (deep fried vegetable fritters – yum), Kari Pakora (the fritters slowly cooked with a classic yogurt and chickpea flour sauce), and Tandoori chicken (marinated roasted chicken).

I tried their goat curry for the second time on my last visit. The first time I tried it, the goat was actually just a piece of big bone. I’ve been wanting to try the goat curry again, but I never got around to it. On this visit I made sure to get some nice pieces of meat. In general I find that their meat dishes are very succulent and soak up the flavours of the sauces or marinades. The goat curry sauce is a bit spicier than some of their other dishes. A milder choice is the butter chicken which has a creamy, sweet, savoury taste. The Matar Paneer (homemade cheese cubes and green peas cooked in a tomatoe/coconut milk sauce) is a bit of a runnier sauce than say the butter chicken, but it goes great either with a spoon or soaked up with some warm Naan. I think that Haandi’s Pakora is alot flufflier and overall tastier than any we’ve tried anywhere else. I also like the sweet onion taste of their pakoras and how well the pakora goes in their Kari sauce. You can get the Tandoori chicken as either a drumstick or a thigh. I personally think either choice is delicious. The marinated meat is firm, with a bit of saltiness from the juice of the meat. It still has a pronounced chicken flavour however. Another thing that I prefer is that you can eat the chicken with your hands.

Even though doesn’t look very pretty because its mostly different shades of browns and yellows it still tastes really good. The service has always been friendly and quick to start once you’re at the table. One time I lost a tooth there, while I was eating and the waiter was very calm and kind about it. I think that is was good that he was kind like that, cause it was a bit bloody. And warm, fresh Naan is always brought to the table.

New Haandi 2000 Restaurant 1401 Gerrard St E
New Haandi 2000 on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

Comments are closed.