Dumpling House Restaurant

Standard

Ahhhh, the Dumpling House Restaurant. We have been going to this place for years, for a couple of reasons.  Firstly, the food is incredibly delicious and secondly, it’s super cheap.
When going to the Dumpling House Restaurant, keep your eyes peeled for this sign.  Because Spadina has so many Chinese signs, they blend in like a neon sign in Las Vegas.

please excuse the glare on the windows in this photo

However, there is one unique thing about the outside of this restaurant and that is the chefs working in the front window.
It may look clean and fancy now but it looked pretty grungy a year ago before it was renovated. The food was so good that we ate there despite the dingy decor and nasty restrooms.  I don’t remember much about how the restrooms look now, but I do remember being impressed with how much they have changed for the better.
Look!!! It’s an alien lifeform!!!  Despite looking like something from a “Creature Feature”, this is actually just showing you the inside of a pork and shrimp steamed dumpling.  Don’t worry, there are no alien larvae in your dumplings (P.S. my mom was really impressed by the size of the shrimp).

Pork & Shrimp Steamed Dumplings

See how appetizing they actually look.  To be honest, I just wanted you to see them in their  “non-mangled” state.

Pork & Chives Steamed Dumplings

One thing that I think is really distinctive about this restaurant is that the dumpling dough actually has flavour.
About a year ago I did not like the fried dumplings  (above are the Fried Minced Beef Dumplings).  

 I think that is because we were on a really “healthy” diet that didn’t include red meat or fatty/fried foods.  But now my mom and me have come to love unhealthy, artery-clogging, hospitalization causing – foods like this.

Look at all the food!!!

This is why we have a gym membership.  Don’t worry, we did take some of this home for later.

Dumpling House Restaurant 328 Spadina Avenue
Dumpling House Restaurant on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

2 responses »

  1. I would actually kill someone for one of those right now…OMG ask mom to buy some frozen from the place (which you can totally do) for christmas nom noms. Do eeeeeet. Love you.

Leave a Reply

