Szechuan Express

Standard


Szechuan Express was the first restaurant we tried at the new food court in the Eaton Centre.  If we were to judge the entire food court off of this restaurant, we would have been very disappointed with the Urban Eatery.  But we have since eaten at a lot of other venues here and we are everything but disappointed.

My order

In case you’re wondering why we did not fill the table to the brim with food (as usual),  is because we had plans for dinner later.  I did not include my mother’s meal because she had the exact same thing as I did, except she had sticky buns instead of sticky balls.  I dislike sticky buns and evidently sticky balls as well.  They were just too sweet, even with soya sauce added.

And now for the reasons why I said this restaurant was disappointing.  #1: It turned out not all the menu options were even available.  #2: The food we did get was cold.  #3: My mother is positive that their product is  frozen/pre-packaged.

What do you see when you look at this (not literally)?

I’ll give you a few hints before I show you.  #1: It’s from a movie  #2: It’s really gross (that’s a warning)  #3: I’m aware this is a random thought.  Without further ado…. here it is!

The Facehugger from Alien

I think the only reason I enjoyed this food at all is because I was hungry, which I almost always am.  We will never eat at the Szechuan Express again.  And after this blog, they probably won’t even let us.

Szechuan Express 220 Yonge St (Eaton Centre)

Szechuan Express on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

8 responses »

  1. This review had me laughing :0) The photos do not look as appealing as some of the other foods you’ve reviewed! I will choose one of the many other options at the Eaton Centre before choosing this one!

  2. Eat the food “before it eats you.” Funny, actually hilarious. I like the roasted sesame covered, sweet red-bean filled ricecake balls,but only for dessert. A good Dim-sum may suit as a culinary smorgasbord for authentic, not fast food, Chinese cuisine (less the non-western delicacies generally unacceptable to our pallete). Where’s the Spam?

      • Do your research before you review. As prevous person noted, you are not supposed to put soya sauce onto a dessert. You have mislead everyone and bashed on a business that is trying to make a living. You have the ability to reach out to people with your thoughts, make sure you send the proper inforomation without making yourself look stupid. Your statement would have the same impact as me stating that from looking at your picture that you look like a closet boy. (Doesn’t sound right does it?)

        Is white chocolate supposed to be that sweet? Are sour worms supposed to be that sour?

        L2Blog.

      • Dear L2Blog: Rude attitude and possibly homophobic comments aside, I am glad that you pointed out my error with the sticky ball, so I can clear it up. Like my other reviews I do not simply “bash” a restaurant based on one dish. All the dishes here (at least the ones they even had in stock) were disappointing because they were cold and obviously premade/frozen products. And that is why I gave Szechuan Express a bad review. Please understand that at the time of writing that review I was 12 years old and just starting out on my food blogging journey. As I previously said, you don’t need to be personally rude to someone in order to provide construction criticism (which is appreciated)
        Callum

Leave a Reply

