Big Daddy’s Bourbon Street Bistro And Oyster Bar

Standard

Despite what the incredibly long name would suggest, Big Daddy’s Bourbon Street Bistro and Oyster Bar is a Cajun restaurant.  A place like this would usually be out of our price range, but we used a thing called Winterlicious.   This is a city sponsored program to bring clientele to the restaurant hot spots of Toronto.  You make a reservation with one of the participating restaurants and when you get there they have a fixed price menu for you to pick from.

Prix fixe menu for Big Daddy's..

For me the menu choices was pretty much a no-brainer. But first let me show what the restaurant looks like.
Unlike most of the restaurants we visit which are either in an ethnic neighbourhood or around our area, this was downtown in what my mom told me was the  “Entertainment District” (which I thought was closer to the beaches area).

This is just a part of the interior, its way bigger than this

We actually noticed a lot of details that we aren’t used to in other places because Big Daddy’s is much fancier than our usual choices.  Don’t forget, my mom is really cheap.  We were very excited by the cloth napkins and the paper doily under the teapot.  I also noticed that the glasses were a bit fancier.

Free bread and butter

Even the bread and butter is fancier. Notice that the butter does not come in little plastic containers with peel off tinfoil.

Popcorn Shrimp with Smoked Tomato and Pepper dipping sauce

Of the many things I like about this appetizer: the shrimp was very fresh tasting and not mushy.  I also liked the nice light batter (not greasy) and the delicious dipping sauce.

Jambalaya

The meat was the saviour of this dish.  They were generous with the sizes of the pieces: the chicken was so tender that a man with no teeth could have eaten it.  Big slices of andouille sausage was just plain delicious and was the only spice in the dish.  Nice big pieces of shrimp but only one or two for each serving.  But the sauce could have definitely used more flavour.  I’ve never had Jambalaya before so I don’t know what it’s supposed to taste like, but mom said this wasn’t it.  It wasn’t horrible though, just quite tomato-y and not much else.

Big Daddy's Bourbon Beignet

Long story short, this was excellent. I loved the chocolate sauce (I was scraping the plate to get it all), powered sugar and donut-like beignet itself.  These would make for the perfect Sunday breakfast.

I’m not sure if I would like to eat here again.  Mainly I would like to try some other Cajun restaurants and see how they compare.

Big Daddy’s Bourbon Street Bistro and Oyster Bar 212 King St W
Big Daddy's Bourbon Street Bistro & Oyster Bar on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

6 responses »

  1. That is why I LOVE Winterlicious! I have an opportunity to try restaurants I couldn’t normally afford. There are so many restaurants on the list this season, you must have trouble choosing where to go! Keep exploring uncharted territory (for you) and post your reviews.

  2. Looks like a wonderful place. Seems like they pay special attention to detail. Jambalaya can sometimes have that “needs more” effect. I’d try their Gumbo even though not listed on the lunch menu to survey the flavor kaleidescope.

  3. You totally said ‘donut-like donut’ :p silly anglos ><

    Great post Callum, I'll link you the name of the REAL creole place in to so you can get some real jumbalaya. I'm pretty sure I just spelled everything wrong.

Leave a Reply

