The Burger’s Priest

Standard

2nd Location at Yonge & Lawrence

Despite how much we’ve hated this place, we decided to give them a second chance and go to their new location to try out their signature burgers.  The burgers that everyone is raving about – The Priest and Vatican City – including Toronto Life Magazine and the Zagat Survey.

Their second location on Yonge north of Lawrence

Even though it took an hour via TTC, trying out the new location was another reason why we revisited The Burger’s Priest.

The crowd inside The Burger's Priest

I think it is worth mentioning that this crowd was at 1:00 on a Thursday (what’s it like there at noon when most people have lunch?) and at one point people were lined up outside the door.

The Vatican City

This is how Toronto Life Magazine describes this burger…

Where: The Burger’s Priest, an all-American burger joint that’s evangelical about meat. 1636 Queen St. E., 647-346-0617.

How much: $10.

The meat: Two four-ounce patties made from a custom blend of premium beef, freshly ground in-house every hour and cooked to medium.

The cheese: Each juicy patty is topped with a slice of wonderfully trashy processed cheese.

The bun: Two artery-clogging grilled cheese sandwiches, each made with more processed cheese and a no-fuss white bun.

The fixings: Forget about newfangled toppings. The options are puritanically standard—ketchup, mustard, mayo, lettuce, tomato, pickle and onion. Fried onions are $1 extra.

Maybe it was because we had low expectations going in but this was NOT the train wreck me and my mom thought it was going to be.   I think what Burger’s Priests’ strength is their use of oddball and/or trailer-trashy ingredients.  The taste of the grilled cheese sandwich is what made this burger.  Take that sandwich away and you are left with a pile of scrap metal and train parts (remember the train wreck from earlier?)… an obviously over hyped burger that no one was talking about in the first place; their basic cheeseburger.

The Priest

This is their regular burger plus their “option”, mushrooms stuffed with cheese and then fried.  Despite what we said on our first visit to The Burger’s Priest (at Queen & Coxwell) the cheese was melted and therefore tastier instead of the floppy grease puddle.  That said, I find it hard to believe that these are beef “patties”.   They are more like ground beef clumps thrown onto the bun so the meat keeps falling out of the burger.

Overall The Burger’s Priest is a lot better than we originally thought, but certainly NOT the Burger of The Year or Third Best Restaurant in Toronto.  The Zagat Survey consisted of  2,266 people voting on 315 restaurants.  Miniscule compared to the actual population of 2.5 million and the 10,000+ restaurants in Toronto.  I would not eat this again because the taste does not overcome how unhealthy these burgers are and its just not worth it.

The Burger’s Priest 3397 Yonge St (North of Lawrence)
The Burger's Priest on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

18 responses »

  1. Great review Callum! I also appreciate how you shed light on the Zagat rating. In saying that – Their rating of #3 and #4 brought news crews to the restaurant! Easy advertising. We are fortunate in Toronto to have so many fabulous restaurants to try – Especially burgers joints.

    • If you do try it please let me know what you think. It’ll be good to get opinions from people who aren’t worshipping the restaurant

  2. Pingback: Paulette’s Original Donuts and Chicken « callumeatstoronto

  3. Pingback: Five Guys Burger & Fries « callumeatstoronto

  4. Pingback: Fancy Franks Gourmet Hot Dogs | callumeatstoronto

  5. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

  6. Pingback: The Burgernator | callumeatstoronto

  7. I rarely leave remarks, however i did a few searching
    and wound up here The Burgers Priest | callumeatstoronto.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it appear like some of the remarks look like they are left by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting at additional online sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh you have
    to post. Could you list of the complete urls of all your communal
    pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • Thank you for your encouragement. Controversial comments are all over the internet. I would drive myself crazy if I got mad at them all.
      Here are my other links courtesy of my IT dude (aka Mom)
      /www.facebook.com/callumeatstoronto?ref=hl
      @callumeatsto my twitter

  8. Pingback: Burrito Boyz | callumeatstoronto

  9. You actually make it appear really easy together with your
    presentation but I to find this topic to be really
    one thing which I feel I’d by no means understand.

    It seems too complicated and very extensive for me.
    I am having a look ahead for your subsequent put up, I’ll attempt to get the dangle of it!

Leave a Reply

