Burger Stomper Gourmet Burger & Milkshake Bar

Standard

Even though we just blogged about burgers in our last post, there are a lot of burger joints in this city and people love to eat them in the summer.  We went to Burger Stomper Gourmet Burger & Milkshake Bar because it’s quite new and has been getting a lot of hype.  Burger Stomper (the name is too long and awkward to fit properly anywhere) has a new type of cooking method when it comes to making burgers.  When I first heard that this place had a “different” way of cooking burgers, I immediately thought “….there’s another place that claims this called The Burger’s Priest..”  And we all know how I feel about them.


When we first got in we sat at a booth that’s elevated and uses piping as a makeshift step/stair.

I’m looking at the menu which is above the open kitchen

The service was very friendly as well as patient with us newcomers.  The menu is a little odd and features some unusual dishes like the Cheese Please. 

Waiting patiently for us to decide

Its always better when there’s an open concept kitchen because you know what’s done to your food before you get it.

My Burger (Better than the Other Guy)

Even though I was quite skeptical to begin with, the burgers here are quite good and not just because of their unusual design.  One thing that makes this superior to The Burger’s Priest (what isn’t) is that the patty is soft to bite into without falling apart.  And its also juicy without being greasy!!  It what seems to be a trend in the food scene which Burger Stomper is following; the servings are ridiculously generous but the food is of excellent quality.  Even the vegetables are crisp and fresh.

My Mom’s Burger – Cheese Please

Wouldn’t be surprised if people’s first reaction (it certainly was mine) is: ‘ What is that on my plate?’.  What “that” is, its a Cheese Skirt;  basically a disc of steamed, melted cheese.  My mother and Nana loved it but I was just okay with this.  I think I should mention that I prefer cured bacon to crispy because then that’s just burnt meat.  I mention bacon because my mother insisted I compare this ring of cheese to bacon which in her mind is the ultimate compliment to food.  I’m not going to describe my Nana’s burger because she ordered off the menu.  What I can say is that she very rarely eats red meat but she would happily come here again.  I originally planned to take a video of the burger being “stomped” but my mom instead decided to ask how the cheese skirts were made and we didn’t feel comfortable asking for two secret recipes.

So we found this video online


The french fries here are actually hot and steaming, not like the water trying to escape from the horrific mess of garbage that is served at Tortilla Flats.  Obviously these fries are homemade but they are also well drained and therefore not greasy and they had just the right amount of salt.

Mint Chocolate Flavour

I originally wanted to try the Nutella Chocolate Peanut Butter Heaven, to compare them to Dangerous Dans’ and Easy Restaurant’s but unfortunately they had run out of chocolate and vanilla ice cream.  So we defaulted to their Mint Chocolate shake.  One thing that’s great about this shake is it’s actually just milk and ice cream, with NO syrups or thickeners.  The ratio of ice cream to milk was balanced quite well so that it was not  head-pulsingly thick nor was it runny.

Burger Stomper is a highly recommendable place and hopefully will overthrow The Burger’s Priest as the Number One burger in Toronto.

Burger Stomper Gourmet Burger & Milkshake Bar 364 Danforth Ave
Burger Stomper Gourmet Burger & Milkshake Bar on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

7 responses »

    • Dear Marilyn :
      My son Callum has Autism. It has been through hard work on all our parts that he is doing as well as he is. He’s bright, funny and articulate. If he wants to wear the hat , where’s the harm?
      Leslie
      Callum’s mom and photographer

  1. Pingback: The Burgernator | callumeatstoronto

  2. Pingback: Morgans on the Danforth | callumeatstoronto

Leave a Reply

