Peter Pan Bistro

Standard

After we had gone to 5th Elementt  we decided that Summerlicious is worth a go and that the restaurants will put in a decent effort.  So our hopes were elevated as we walked into Peter Pan Bistro.  

Despite looking like a pretty average size restaurant, it’s a bit bigger once you get inside.


I don’t exactly get why the name of this restaurant is associated with the flying boy with happy thoughts, because the food certainly didn’t make us happy enough to fly.  I am in no way trying to imply that the food was horrible, but it definitely wasn’t great.


I decided on the sesame chicken wonton, soft taco and chocolate brownie from their prix-fixe menu. My mom’s choices were the gazpacho, pasta and tiramisu.


As is clearly visible for all to see, this is not in any way a wonton. There was no chicken in it, nor any chili sauce. Instead there was Portobello mushrooms with a cream sauce, because as we realized while writing this blog…. they brought me the wrong appetizer. Even though I consider this to be a down point in service, it was actually pretty tasty.


In my mom’s opinion, this was the best part of her meal. It was pretty good, this soup was creamy with an earthy freshness.  We would order it again, if we were to return to this restaurant, but unfortunately we won’t.

The outside and inside of my soft taco

This soft taco was average at best, mediocre at worst.  A good way to start this critique is with the chicken.  White meat only, in big tender pieces but they were few and far between.  As for the sauces I preferred the barbecue sauce (which tasted jarred) over the guacamole, which was just a bunch of bland.  This is the only thing I feel fortunate to have been given in small amounts, as more of it on this taco would have tainted it.


The pasta in a nutshell; surprisingly nice and hot (instead of the usual lukewarm stuff other restaurants pull on us), a little too small portion wise and tasted so average it was disappointing as a restaurant critic but would be satisfying as a home dinner.


I have a special affinity for chocolate so when comes to brownies and other such treats I become a lot more critical.  Having tried tons of these types of desserts (probably two or three times a week) I have a good basis for comparison.  Deserts have been more moist than this, since this was so dry I actually had trouble cutting into it with my fork.


Closer to the other end of the spectrum, the tiramisu was light, fluffy and with a yummy coffee undertone.

Food aside, you are seated in a lovely atmosphere and with service lively enough that your food comes to you when hot and ready, instead of letting it sit somewhere getting colder.  Details are miniscule however when it comes to the big question – is Peter Pan Bistro recommendable?  Before I answer with a hands down yes, I figure price is a factor as important as anything else.  Including drinks, tax and tips are whole meal rounded out to 70 big ones, and that’s with the prix- fixe Summerlicious menu.  Normally this meal would probably be $80 + easily.  Throw in the disappointment we experienced with some of the elements of our meal and the hands down “yes” quickly morphs into a hands down “no”.

Peter Pan Bistro 373 Queen Street W
Peter Pan on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

6 responses »

  1. Glad you’re continuing to try Summerlicious menus! It’s does look like a nice atmosphere – I love the old metal ceiling. I’ve had the experience before where a restaurant brings you the wrong order and it works out.

  2. Saw the new blog and decided to eat first before reading due to your previous blog made me so hungry… barbequed a couple New York’s in the backyard (hardwood charcoal, crushed salt, granulated garlic, ground sage, white pepper) then come to find that the restaurant was nearly vegetarian. Peter Pan seems to have a nice decor about it. Some restaurants seem to default to bland when it comes to their dishes. Still, I’m glad I ate before reading. Keep up the good work!

  3. Mmmmmmm… it all looks so yummy by your pictures! I so want to dive right in! And then I read the price-point; ummmm not so much! lol! How long is Summerlicious on for? Perhaps I’ll check out a few places with my hunnie if it’s still going! :)

  4. Pingback: La Petite France « callumeatstoronto

Leave a Reply

