Wish

Standard

I wanted to say that we haven’t posted for a while, so Wish is actually the last restaurant we went to when Summerlicioius was on.


We were seated outside by the staff and even though we usually don’t eat on patios, in this case I was happy as it was too crowded on the inside.

A montage of the inner decor and a glimpse of the tight seating

Is it me, or is it weird that they a deer head in this restaurant?


Their Prix-fixe menu for Summerlicious.

Our appetizers

First of I’ll start with the best thing; my shrimp.  Even though you could go without it, the sauce was quite lovely and the shrimp tasted very fresh.  However it was luke warm.  I’m pretty sure “sautéed” is different from room temperature.  Mom’s soup was probably the worst of the bunch as it was bland and with very little apple taste.  It was described as an Apple/Corn gazepacho and tasted mostly of corn and potato.  As for Nana’s salad, she said it could have used more salt but the goat cheese was excellent.

Sliders from left to right: Angus, Turkey, Salmon

Again, starting with the best, I introduce my three sliders.  I think by far the weirdest of the bunch was the turkey slider.  That’s because it tasted like they stole the meat filling recipe from a dumpling house and used it for burgers.  I’m not saying it tasted bad, it was actually the best of the three.  Which does not look to good for the other two sliders.  The laziest one by far was the Angus burger.  I’m pretty sure the mentality behind the making of this – if we use a more expensive meat, we won’t have to come up with a recipe that is above mediocre.  I thought there was too much dill in the salmon slider and while I will admit I m not a huge dill fan; it would have been nice to have another condiment or spice as well.  Even thought the dill critique is unfairly biased, the fact remains that this burger was also very dry.

Nana’s Fish & Chips

The fish and chips were definitely a pro and a con.  The pro being that they were not cheap with the portion of fish and it was pleasant tasting.  The con being that the batter was so greasily horrible that I actually threw my sample back to Nana’s plate. And consumed large amounts of Coca-cola to get the taste out of my mouth.

Mom’s pasta

In her own words..my Mom’s pasta was “atrocious and poorly executed”.  The rapini was so badly cooked as to infuse the entire dish with an overwhelming bitterness. It was inedible.  So basically, avoid this like you would a broken vial of smallpox.

I think I picked the best dishes from the prix-fixe menu, out of the three of us, so we’ll start with my dessert first.

My dessert – Molten Chocolate Cake

Even though it is decidedly easy to make a molten brownie, they still did a good job.  It was reasonably moist, and tasted mostly of chocolate as opposed to sugar.

Nana’s apple tart

Much like the Molten Cake, Wish picked another dessert recipe that is hard to mess up but unlike the cake this tart does have some flaws.  Nana said that she thought that it was too sweet and that the apples were mushy.  She prefers her apples in pieces, not like applesauce.

Mom’s Key Lime Tart

In short, the Key Lime Tart was awful. Too much dry chocolate crust and not nearly enough Key Lime. Seemed like a good idea but was bad, much like this restaurant. Also reflecting the fare at Wish; all three desserts were clearly pre-made frozen products.

Maybe the service is frozen too, because it didn’t take a long time to eat our food but we spent an hour and half here.  The waiter was not rude but he seemed bored and a bit snooty.  It could be that it took a long time to prepare our dishes, but considering it came to the table barely warm one can assume that it sat around for a while before being brought to our table.  The last atrocity which deserves a special place in my post are the fries.  As shown in the previous pictures, they were so cheap with the portions it would probably make most customers wonder why they even bothered to serve fries at all.  They appeared scraped from the bottom of a better batch as they were stuck together in greasy cold lumps.  For my closing, which will undoubtably show the quality of Wish,  I will end with one more picture.


They should use the Wish in their name to dream up a better restaurant.

Wish 3 Charles Street E
Wish on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

2 responses »

  1. Welcome back! The weather is finally cooling off so we expect more to come! Too bad about Wish – I can feel the grease coming through the photo with that fish and chips meal :0{

  2. Pingback: La Petite France « callumeatstoronto

Leave a Reply

