Paulette’s Original Donuts and Chicken

Standard

When we had gone to Paulette’s Original Donuts and Chicken (I’m pretty sure the “original” doesn’t apply to their name) it had just opened back in July and there was a lot of buzz. Lets just say that there’s a reason why sometimes “buzz” doesn’t last long.


“Paulette’s Original Donuts and Chicken” doesn’t say good anywhere in there, so maybe it’s more accurate than it seems.  With a little more space than The Burger’s Priest  this is definitely not designed to be a sit down restaurant.  Although I liked that they didn’t have loud music blaring like a lot of other places.

Since chicken is the main course, I’ll start with Paulette’s chicken box.  When compared to the size of any decent Jamaican place or the delicious New Town Family’s  it is hard to believe that Paulette uses adult chickens, unless they get the runts of every litter.  Another problem is the breading seems to be solely composed of burnt grease crumbs scraped from the bottom of some rusty fryer.  Several others also agree with me in that it was too crispy.

you too can have this abomination for the fantastically high price of $14.95.

As for the macaroni and cheese, it was good but not special enough to change any opinion about this place, for better or for worse.

Clockwise from top left: Their display case, The Banana Coconut Cream Pie, The Vanilla Bean Nutmeg, The Rootbeer Float

Are the donuts saving this restaurant from failure?  Are gas companies saving the Earth and your wallets?  Your donuts have a problem when Coffee Time and Tim Horton’s make better donuts than these so-called premium donuts.  The only thing ‘premium’ about these sugar-crashes is the price.  Your money would be better spent on a creature feature at the video store, if you want real art.

Look at it! Look at its hideous dryness!

If you have any five-year-olds that get hyper easily because of sugar than avoid this like Chernobyl, for reasons you can probably guess.  The only other complaint is that Nana’s Banana Coconut Cream Pie had no cream and the ‘banana’ was flavouring.  I thought the closest thing it tasted like was bubble gum, if that tells you anything.

Service was average, so there’s nothing really important to say about it, and as for if I recommend it, didn’t you notice how I compared it to gas companies and Chernobyl?

Paulette’s Original Donuts and Chicken 913 Queen Street E
Paulette's Original Donuts and Chicken on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 13 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a year now, it's mostly for family-owned restarants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

9 responses »

  1. Hi Callum,

    My name is Judy. I am a Marketing Coordinator for a content marketing platform called Atomic Reach that creates blogger communities and connects bloggers with brands looking for high-quality content. I am reaching out to you about an opportunity to become part of the new tribe called “Toronto Eats”. As a huge foodie myself, I love your Callum Eats Toronto blog and think you have done a fantastic job in covering topics that would be interesting to the members.

    So the obvious question, what’s in it for you?

    Lots of traffic to your blog, and we’ll be sending new readers to your site every day. It’s great for SEO. In many of our previous blogger cases, we have doubled traffic to their sites and significantly decreased bounce rates. You can also meet new bloggers who write reviews on Toronto restaurants!

    If you’re interested or have any questions, please send me an email (judy@atomicreach.com) and I’ll send you a link to activate your account (or an answer to questions).

    We look forward to you joining our community! :)

    Kindest Regards,
    Judy

  2. Pingback: New Town Family Restaurant « callumeatstoronto

  3. Pingback: Fancy Franks Gourmet Hot Dogs | callumeatstoronto

  4. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot
    about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog.
    A great read. I will definitely be back.

  5. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in
    accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

