Dangerous Dan’s Elvis Shake

Standard

I came across this shake while waiting for a restaurant across the street to open. We want to do a review of The Real Jerk, a Jamacian restaurant, but it opens at two o’clock on a Sunday.  We had to wait an hour and it was raining outside. So we killed half that time by having an Elvis shake at Dangerous Dan’s. The Elvis shake is made from chocolate ice cream, peanut butter and bananas (I kid you not).

I found the shake to be surprisingly tasty, but my mother didn’t like it as much.  In fact, she felt it was just a really bad idea. It was hard to taste the chocolate ice cream, which means either the peanut butter was too overwhelming or the peanut butter and chocolate merged to make a new flavour. Because I thought mine was accidently too thick, we switched cups for a little while. I found my mom’s shake had more of a banana-like flavour. This shows that the ingredient ratio is not constant. Probably because of the peanut butter I thought the shake was too thick to suck through the straw without a lot of effort. Next time I go to Dangerous Dan’s I want to try out a different shake, to see if that theory is correct.

Struggling to get the Elvis Shake through the straw

Dangerous Dans Diner 714 Queen St E
Dangerous Dan's Diner on Urbanspoon

About callumeatstoronto

Hi, my name is Callum. Even though I am only 17 years old, I have been working on my palette and enjoy many foreign foods. I've been doing this blog for a a few years now, mostly for family-owned restaurants in Toronto. As I've gotten familiar with this whole blogging thing, I've started to add posts on other food related topics and not just do restaurant critiques. My interests include; space, astro-physics, Sci-Fi, dinosaurs and of course Food. I hope you enjoy my blog!

9 responses »

  1. I love the combination and how they came to call it the “Elvis Shake” :0) Which one will you try next time? I wonder if you’ll have to “drink” that one with a spoon instead of a straw. Looking forward to your review on The Real Jerk!

  2. Constancy and consistency…. seems one-or-the-other is out of balance. However, chocolate and peanut butter? Reese’s found out about THAT glorious combo a long-time now! 😉

  3. That shake sounds really delicious. I find a spoon works well with an overly-thick shake, go slow to avoid icecream headache. Guess they are playing Elvis’s favorite sandwich, the “I’ll have a peanut butter, bacon and banana sandwich with extra honey…” Seems like a weird combination… wonder if it would go well with green olives? Jerk chicken after that shake would be rather interesting. If they serve it, try the Ackee and Saltfish (Jamaican national dish) Ackee’s and Saltfish/Jerk smoothie?

  4. heyyy calllum, ur doing a great job reviewing, some good places to eat in toronto…but a little fyi…if a restaurant serves you a milkshake in a styrofoam cup…chances are that the shake wil be from ok to mediocre….love, pride & lots of fresh ingredience goes into making a fantastic, thick milkshake…how was the food @ the REAL JERK ?..let us know…would like to try there some time soon…

  5. Hi Callum,

    Your first posts just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:
    http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/10/133850/restaurant/Gerrard-India-Bazaar/New-Haandi-2000-Toronto

    I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:

    – Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon

    – Go to your blog page on our site: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/10/5269/Toronto/callumeatstoronto.html

    – Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar

    After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks,
    Itea

    http://www.urbanspoon.com

  6. I just drove by Dangerous Dan’s last week when I was at work. I didn’t stop in though. I wasn’t hungry at the time, and needed something healthier.

  7. Pingback: Easy Restaurant « callumeatstoronto

  8. Pingback: Burger Stomper Gourmet Burger & Milkshake Bar « callumeatstoronto

Leave a Reply

